Invited Speakers

The confirmed participants include:               


Distinguished University Professor and founding Director of the Centre for the Humanities at Utrecht University, Founding Professor of Gender Studies in Humanities at Utrecht (1988-2005), first Scientific Director of the Netherlands Research School of Women's Studies.

Matthew Broome

Professor and Chair in Psychiatry and Youth Mental Health, Director of the Institute of Mental Health, School of Psychology, University of Birmingham.

Fred Cummins

Associate Professor of Cognitive Science, School of Computer Science, University College Dublin.

Bill (K.W.M.) Fulford

DPhil FRCP FRCPsych, Fellow of St Catherine’s College and Member of the Philosophy Faculty, University of Oxford, Emeritus Professor of Philosophy and Mental Health, University of Warwick, Founder Editor and Chair of the Advisory Board, Philosophy, Psychiatry, & Psychology, and Director of The Collaborating Centre for Values-based Practice, St Catherine’s College, Oxford (

Shaun Gallagher

Lillian and Morrie Moss Chair of Excellence in Philosophy, University of Memphis; Professorial Fellow in the Faculty of Law, Humanities and the Arts, University of Wollongong, Australia.

Melvyn Goodale

Distinguished University Professor, Canada Research Chair in Visual Neuroscience, and Director of the Brain and Mind Institute at Western.

Maurita Harney

Honorary Senior Fellow, School of Historical and Philosophical Studies, University of Melbourne.

Sara Heinämaa

Academy professor (2017–2021) and Academy project director, Academy of Finland; Professor of philosophy at the Department of Social Sciences and Philosophy, University of Jyväskylä; Director of the research community Subjectivity, Historicity, Communality (2012–2017), Helsinki Collegium for Advanced Studies, University of Helsinki.

Teresa G. and Ferdinand F. Martignetti Professor of Philosophy, Harvard University. 

Sean. D. Kelly

Postdoctoral Fellow, Technische Universität Berlin, Berlin Center for Knowledge Research.

Miriam Kyselo

Professor at the Archives Husserl, CNRS, École Normale Supérieure, Paris Sciences et Lettres Research University, Paris

Dorothée Legrand

Associate Professor, School of Philosophy, University College Dublin.

Timothy Mooney

Professor, School of Philosophy, University College Dublin; Joseph Chair in Catholic Philosophy, Boston College; President of the International Federation of Philosophical Studies/Fédération Internationale des Sociétés de Philosophie.

Dermot Moran

Professor, Faculty of Philosophy, University of California, Berkeley.

Alva Noë

Phyllis M. Taylor Professor of French Studies and Professor of Philosophy, Louisiana State University.

John Protevi

Matthew RatcliffE

Professor of Theoretical Philosophy, Department of Philosophy, University of Vienna

Associate Professor, Faculty of Philosophy and Tutorial Fellow, Christ Church College, University of Oxford.

Joseph Schear

FWF Lise Meitner Fellow (senior), University of Vienna.

Dylan Trigg

Clinical Psychiatrist, Paris. Consultant to international organisations such as the OECD and UNESCO, to academic institutions such as The American University in Paris, New York University in Paris and INSEAD, to embassies from Europe, the Commonwealth Countries and the USA.


Professor of Philosophy, University of Copenhagen; Director of the Centre for Subjectivity Research.

Dan Zahavi


We will issue a call for papers in mid January 2018 to the conference and this will include a number of short presentation slots and also opportunities to act as respondent to keynote papers. There will be two dedicated sessions for graduate students and early career researchers to consult with senior academics about their projects.

We are aiming to have a reasonable balance between male and female participants and we encourage minorities and under-represented groups including women to apply.